Australian seascape and landscape photography

FAQ about my HDR seascapes.

augury.jpg

Following is a post I made in my journal on the Redbubble site regarding the seascape photos. It might be helpful to those who are thinking about giving HDR a go.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – snip – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I’ve recently been receiving interest from different sources wanting to know the type of camera and lens I use, and also my post processing techniques for my seascape shots. I’m posting these details here so I won’t need to repeat this information in the description section accompanying each image.
Gear used – Camera – Canon 40D
Landscape lens – Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM
Filter – Hoya circular polarizing filter to suit lens
Tripod – absolutely essential – used to keep the images aligned.

Camera settings – For landscape shots I have the camera set to aperture priority mode and set to f11 or greater to obtain a deep depth of field. I usually like to have the ISO as low as possible in order to keep the sensor noise down to a minimum.
The polarizing filter is adjusted for each shot to reduce the amount of sky reflected off the surface of the water.

The camera is setup to use AEB (auto exposure bracketing) at -2, 0 and +2 and the drive mode is set to “continuous” with a two second delay. What all this means is that when I press the button, the camera will wait 2 seconds giving it time to stabilize on the tripod then take 3 exposures in rapid succession with hopefully no camera movement.
The tripod is essential, forget about hand holding the camera for this type of work..

Post processing –
I use a program called “Dynamic Photo HDR” to combine the three exposures then tonemap and adjust the image within the program. I then save the image as a TIFF file and open it in photoshop to touch up any bits I’m not happy with. Finally the completed image is saved as a jpeg for uploading to RedBubble.

Hopefully this has been helpful for you.
If you have any further questions please feel free to email me.

Cheers, Jim.

4 responses

  1. what doies HDR stand for?

    February 5, 2008 at 5:57 pm

  2. It stands for “high dynamic range” meaning that you can capture/display details in both the highlights and shadows.
    This is something you cant normally achieve using a single exposure.

    February 6, 2008 at 9:49 am

  3. Wow this a amazing shot!

    February 17, 2008 at 7:42 am

  4. Rich Beecher

    I have a place near Cape May New Jersey and have taken some really nice shots by the jetty during some Nor’ Easters. Because of the low light level what camera lenses would you recommend. I will be purchasing the Canon 5 D shortly.

    June 26, 2008 at 3:18 pm

Leave a Reply

