Australian seascape and landscape photography

Montforts beach and the Bunny Rock

After the recent group excursion to Montforts beach I decided to revisit the place at high tide. The aim was to catch the three feature rock formations and also the “Bunny Rock” with a bit more water around their bases.
If you’re interested in visiting these fine rock formations park your car at the end of Spraypoint Road in Blairgowrie and take the short walk to the beach.

Jim Worrall - Blairgowrie - Mornington Peninsula

Rabbit Rock - Jim Worrall - Blairgowrie - Mornington Peninsula

Below – Just for fun a 13 second long exposure selfie taken at Montforts beach. 🙂
Jim Worrall - long exposure - Blairgowrie - Mornington Peninsula

4 responses

  1. Love your stuff. It inspired me to buy a ND filter and I had my first play down at Spray Point beach yesterday. Hooked! Do you find you getvthecbest images with tides going in or out?

    May 31, 2014 at 5:03 pm

    • Hi Charlotte,
      Thanks for your kind comment. It doesn’t really matter whether the tide is going in or out from a photography perspective. If you’re walking out onto the rock shelves then it’s best to do so on a receding tide from a safety perspective. I find I get the best results on cloudy days with big waves. The clouds act as a diffuser to soften the light and reduce harsh shadows. Large waves are best for maximum “misting” and water movement shots. 🙂

      May 31, 2014 at 6:37 pm

  2. David Padgham

    Hi Jim, was taking a look at some pictires you have of bunny rock or rabbit rock as we call it and the other two rocks you have taken in your photos, I myself have taken many photos of the same rocks and have swam in that part of montforts beach going on almost 48 years now I love getting down there taking photos of different parts of the beach maybe one day I could meet you down there and hopefully you could look at my photos that I have taken, I think I would have around 200 plus photos of around montforts beach and would appreciate if you could take a look some time.. thanks Dave.. I love photography I would love to learn more about it..

    January 24, 2015 at 11:31 pm

    • Hi David,
      Thanks for taking the time to write. It’s very possible that we could meet up as I’m often down that way.
      If you have a Facebook account you can join my group called the “ND400 Long Exposure Photography” group.
      This is where I and others post notifications of excursions. The excursions are arranged as social events providing a chance to meet like minded people with an interest in photography. It’s a nice way to socialize and even learn from each other, and of course take photos. 🙂

      January 28, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

